Urban Agriculture Listening Sessions

The National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) is requesting written stakeholder input on the Urban, Indoor and other Emerging Agricultural Production Research, Education and Extension Initiative. The purpose of this Notice is to assist NIFA in developing the fiscal year 2020 Request for Applications for the Urban, Indoor and other Emerging Agricultural Production Research, Education and Extension Initiative.

The NUEL, in conjunction with our partners, plans to send a coordinated response to NIFA’s request, incorporating input from member institutions and their local stakeholders, to support NIFA’s goal for developing FY 2020 RFA for the program.

To gather broad sector input for the response, we are collecting input through:

  • an on-line survey and
  • will be hosting four on-line listening sessions (see below for details on how to register and attend)

How we will use this information:

Input from the listening sessions and survey responses will be aggregated and summarized for the purpose of providing comments to NIFA; no personally identifying information will be included.

Background information: NIFA invests in Urban Agriculture research and education through its Beginning Farmers and Ranchers Development Program, AFRI Foundational Knowledge of Agriculture Production Systems, Specialty Crop Research Initiative, AFRI Small and Medium Sized Farms, Community Food Projects, and the Organic Agriculture Research and Extension Initiative. Information on these programs and how they help address urban, indoor and emerging agricultural production priorities can be found in NIFA’s website through the following address: https://nifa.usda.gov/​program/​uie-ag.

Listening Sessions:  Michigan State University’s National Charrette Institute has designed and will provide facilitation for the on-line listening sessions.  The sessions will be conducted as follows:

  1. Thursday, May 28 from 2-4 pm EST, 1-3 pm CST, 12-2 pm MST, 11 am-1pm PST
    Registration Link: https://msu.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJ0lfu6hrD8uHtYzm0UxDYIC3v6Dg0yUjHgW
  2. Thursday, May 28 from 7-9 pm EST, 6-8 pm CST, 5-7 pm MST, 4-6 pm PST
    Registration Link: https://msu.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJUldOqrqjgrHtUuyo1zmS1KAiwyvUQFk7NF
  3. Friday, May 29 from 10 am-12 pm EST, 9-11 am CST, 8-10 am MST, 7- 9 am PST
    Registration Link: https://msu.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJIocuqurD8vH9JRiHkDDl1kL1tepfCtEWXp
  4. Friday, May 29 from 2-4 pm EST, 1-3 pm CST, 12 pm-2 pm MST, 11 am-1 pm PST
    Registration Link: https://msu.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJMuf-6pqTkjHtTGkaXRLY9GR17nocRrh_bT

For more information visit: https://metroextension.wsu.edu/urbanag/